Community Message from the President and Provost

We write to express the College's continued concern about the restrictions imposed by President Trump's second executive order banning travel to the United States from six predominantly Muslim nations. Although this second order, issued on Monday, may cause less disruption than the first order, issued Jan. 27, 2017, we continue to view these restrictions as incompatible with our institutional values.

As an institution, we have been unwavering in our support of international students and scholars since President Trump issued his first executive order, and we will continue to be firm in our commitment to all of the members of our community, regardless of their citizenship.

Last month, Dartmouth joined 16 other colleges and universities in filing an amicus brief in a case challenging the first travel ban, which restricted immigration from seven countries and suspended refugee admissions to the United States. Also in February, we joined 47 other college and university presidents in signing a letter urging President Trump to rectify the damage done by the first executive order.

Additionally, we continue to support and advocate for the continuation of the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals policy, known as DACA. Before President Trump was inaugurated, we made clear our commitment to mitigate, within the confines of the law, any effects on undocumented students caused by changes in DACA or its application. Although the most recent executive order does not affect DACA, our commitment to undocumented students remains strong.

Our Office of Visa and Immigration Services continues to recommend that foreign nationals from the countries listed in the second executive order (Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen) avoid international travel, including to Canada, for the time being. Our OVIS staff will continue to work closely with those members of the community affected by the government's action. For more information, please visit the OVIS webpage ( dedicated to updates on federal immigration regulations.


President Phil Hanlon '77
Provost Carolyn Dever